S-Works & Essen

May 23, 2012 at 4:44 am 1 comment

Today I had the pleasure of visiting S-Works Communication & Design. I was greeted by Ludger Sandknop, the owner and cousin of my host-family. Ludger is very hip and we share a common taste in music: Pearl Jam, Nirvana, and Jack White. We hit it off great, I appreciate his design style; very simple, clean and elegant. When I heard I would tour the company I didn’t realize he would be putting me to work! I was given my own work station and was shown the files for a new project. A company, Miele, that creates large autoclaves (sterilization machines) needs a new brochure for the centralized sterilization system. Essentially it is a very large, very sterile room in hospitals where surgical utensils can be cleaned. When finished it will be a 24 page brochure/magazine. I helped with the layout of the cover that will be sent as a draft to the company for approval.
While there I got to preview some of the items for an Art Show opening in September, “Plica”. The theme is explication, or unfolding, and all of the various media types look similar to origami. Ludger and Silke, my host-mother, are putting together the event. One of the items I saw was a dress sent from Tokyo that is folded in a very flat circle, almost with a spiral pattern. When picked up from the top it unfolds into a very wearable dress. (it will sell for over $1,300)
After the brochure cover was complete we headed over to Solarkonig (Solar King) to check up on the installation of their sign, which Ludger designed. It turned out great.
We then went down the street to ErdnuB Druck (Peanut Printing) to see the printing presses and a few samples of Ludger’s work.
I had a few hours off before Silke and I will went to Essen (about an hour away) to a community discussion of one of her sculptures that is located in downtown Essen. It can be seen here. Silke is an amazing sculptor and has done great polrtraits of people.
-Lindsey

20120523-134507.jpg

20120523-235153.jpg

Entry filed under: Team Blog.

Magnificent Muster More Munster

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. billrobson1  |  May 23, 2012 at 4:10 pm

    That’s great Lindsey, what a start. Now that’s what I call a vocational day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


