Wake Up Calls

June 13, 2012 at 11:11 pm 1 comment

Morning Wake Up Calls

Each morning this week I have been called to awake by the birds starting around 4:45 am. A virtual symphony of chirping, cooing, squawking, and gurgles of a guinea hen perform daily. And this performance was often accompanied by steady coo-cooing sounding off and on throughout the very early morn. While a confirmed morning person, I admit that the enthusiastic birds and what I had thought was a broken cuckoo clock sounding from the neighbour’s flat had me grumbling from time to time. Yesterday morning I asked my host, Matthias Dargel, if perhaps someone had a malfunctioning cuckoo clock as it seemed to be sounding off very early each morning. (I had hopes of silencing the clock since I could do nothing about the birds.) Well, he had a great laugh (repeatedly!) and let me know that a very real cuckoo bird lives in the tree outside my room. Guess what folks? Real cuckoo birds sound just like those little birds found in cuckoo clocks! I had been wondering what to buy myself here in Germany—perhaps I will bring that little annoying bird (in its own little house) home with me!

View from host’s home–where is that noisy bird?!!

Marie

Entry filed under: Team Blog.

Bonn & Beethoven Soccer, by any other name is….

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. billrobson1  |  June 14, 2012 at 7:07 am

    I’m just not sure who is coo-coo, you or the cuckoo in the tree. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


